Captura de pantalla 2017-10-09 a las 12.21.01

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) applies to children from birth to five years of age. At SABS this incorporates Pre-Nursery (2-3 years), Nursery (3-4 years) and Reception (4-5 years). A child’s experience in the early years has a major impact on their future learning. The EYFS is a framework that provides assurance that children will be able to experience the best possible start in life – an experience that provides opportunities for children to develop their abilities and talents in a playful environment where they feel safe, secure and happy.

Aims and Objectives:

SABS aims to fulfill the expectations of the EYFS Guidance document published by the Department for Children, Schools and Families. This Guidance is based upon four principles:

  • A Unique Child
  • Positive Relationships
  • Enabling Environments
  • Learning and Development

A Unique Child

At SABS we recognise that children develop in individual ways and at varying rates. All children are treated fairly regardless of race, religion or abilities. All children and their families are valued within our school. We believe that all our students matter and we give every individual the opportunity to achieve their best.

Positive Relationships

We recognise that parents are children’s first and most enduring educators. We value the contribution they make and encourage parents to view themselves as partners in their child’s education. At SABS we aim to develop and model caring, respectful, professional relationships with all members of staff, our students and their families and carers. At SABS the Class Teacher acts as “Key Person” to all children in their class, supported by the Teaching Assistant/s.

Enabling Environments

At SABS we recognise that the environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development. This begins by observing the children and assessing their interests, development and learning, before planning challenging but achievable activities and experiences to extend each individual’s learning.

EYFS classrooms are organised to allow children to explore and learn securely and safely. The classrooms are set up in learning areas, where children are able to access resources independently. The outdoor area is seen as an extension of the classroom.

Captura de pantalla 2017-10-09 a las 12.20.45

Learning and Development

SABS holds children’s play in high esteem – ‘In their play children learn at their highest level’ (EYFS).

Play allows children to:

  • think critically, explore and make sense of the world;
  • practice and build up ideas;
  • learn how to control themselves and understand the need for rules;
  • communicate with others as they investigate and solve problems;
  • engage in active learning (acting on objects, ideas, people and events);
  • feel motivated and interested;
  • have some independence and control over their learning;
  • develop the confidence to make decisions;
  • take ownership of their learning;
  • discover connections and develop understanding;

Learning and development is categorised into three prime areas of learning

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

Additionally there are four specific areas of learning:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

At SABS we value all areas of learning and development equally and understand that they are interconnected, depend on each other, and should not be taught in isolation from the others.